OK…This is OT…Deadliest Catch is on tonight!

I know this is “off topic” since this is basically my art blog, but I just LOVE the show “Deadliest Catch” on Discovery channel.  Tonight’s episode is in honor of the great late Phil Harris, captain of the Cornelia Marie, one of the crab fishing ship’s in the Bering Sea off the coast of Alaska.  For anyone who has never watched this show, you are really missing a great one.  This show documents the rough life of the Bering Sea fisherman.  They are like family to each other….and I believe, in a way, a part of each viewers family, in their hearts.  The show not only shows how hard it is to fish for crab (and sometimes other catches, like cod)…but, also tells the story of each fisherman’s life and the trials that they have to deal with.  It sure puts a new perspective on each time you sit down to a crab dinner.  Many fisherman have died performing the job in which they do.

Tonight they will show the episode that will honor Phil Harris….a great captain, who always showed his love for his sons and crewman.  I remember in late January and early February of this year, when the news alerted Phil’s fans of his massive stroke….I believe most fans hearts sunk….I know many prayers went out for him.  He will be greatly missed by many.

Anyway, I don’t usually get really “tied up” in most TV shows (well except for Lost and Eureka…), but Deadliest Catch has become a regular in my life and my family’s life.  Tonight we sit down and watch with heavy hearts and a tear in the eye….Goodbye Phil….you will be missed!  God bless.

Also, on an artistic point of view….I would love to paint those beautiful ships….hum…gives me an idea.

3 thoughts on “OK…This is OT…Deadliest Catch is on tonight!

  1. Pingback: Deadliest Catch

  2. Pingback: All Around the World News

Leave a Reply

