Art Instruction on Acrylic Collage on Canvas

This is my collage acrylic painting “Altered Garden.”  First, I took an acrylic glaze and mixed it with a bright green paint and worked it into the entire background of the canvas, paying attention to sort of “scratch” in details of floral background, giving depth and textural interest. 

Next, I took several digital kaleidoscopes that I had made from my photography stash and printed them out on various photo papers and art papers.  I then cut out these various kaleidoscope designs and attached them in various locations on the canvas with an acrylic gel.  After attached, I added the same acrylic gel to the face of each design to give them a protective coating. 

After these designs were added, I painted in the stems, vines, leaves, etc. for each of these kaleidoscope flowers. 

Then I added various other hand painted flowers and vegetation until I got the desired effect that I was happy with.  Finally, after allowing all of this painting and collaging to dry thoroughly, I added a good spray finish to provide a protective coating.

2 thoughts on “Art Instruction on Acrylic Collage on Canvas

Leave a Reply

