Having a Work Space is a Great Thing For Any Artist

Having a work space is a great thing for any artist….but, not everyone can afford dedicating a good portion of their “space” for use in their art or craft.  I have been blessed recently with moving all of my art paraphernalia, from the back room and from a bunch of nooks and crannies all around the house, to the nice sized middle room in my house.  My sweet husband, had a suggestion of moving around the rooms in our house, so that I could have a whole room to myself for painting, photography, jewelry making, and all the other artsy stuff I do.  After all, this is my life’s work….and I love it and it’s great having a place for all of my stuff.

It was a lot of work moving things around, but we got it done and I just love it.  I have a work table and my jewelry making table off in the corner near the two windows….outside the windows, we have huge rhododendrium outside covering the whole window but still letting light in….these stay green year round and have big beautiful pink blooms in the spring.  Our wood stove is in this room, so it has to stay, but it’ll be nice and cozy in there during the cold weather.

On the other side of the room, I have my two large cabinets to store a whole lot of things….it’s so nice to be able to find things again.  I actually know where everything is now.

As I said, it’s nice having a work space of your own, but not everyone can have one.  I know myself, there was a time where I had things stuffed into big tupperware containers jammed into corners.  I guess the biggest advantage to having your own art space is that you can start a project and leave the project for a while, without having to put everything away each time your take a break from it…..and knowing where you put things …having some sort of organization is wonderful.

First, if you don’t have your own room, the best thing to do is to try to organize everything into categories and separate with different storage containers.  Next, if you can spare even a small part of a room (that is out of the way of traffic) or even a closet, try using this smaller area the best that you can.  Once you get organized, it makes things easier and more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

