Vintage Pearls & Swarovski Crystal…a couple of my favorite things in jewelry design

First of all, sorry for being gone so long from writing in this blog.  With that said…in this post, I will tell you about my expansion into designing and making jewelry that has vintage elements added.  I have a lot of old vintage jewelry past down through my family…and it occured to me that I would enjoy taking these vintage items apart and cleaning them to re-use and upcycle into new jewelry…I love doing this. 

This beautiful necklace is approx. 18 in. / 46 cm long.
Being upcycled, I took the original vintage necklace and cleaned and restrung the graduated creamy vintage faux pearls with durable flexible jewelry wire (coated with nylon). I added tiny silver lined opal czech glass beads in between each pearl. In the front where the pearls are largest, I added 4 (4mm)Swarovski silver crystal bicones to give that final sparkly touch. Finally, I re-added the original vintage sterling silver clasp. The findings that I used were sterling silver also.
You can see this necklace here  http://www.etsy.com/listing/66568783/romantic-upcycled-vintage-pearl-necklace

This necklace would make a lovely Valentine’s Day or Mother’s Day gift or would be great for a wedding for the bride or bridesmaid.

Leave a Reply

